Rocketship Public Schools National Board of Directors (2022-23 Q4) (Wednesday, May 24, 2023)

Generated by Cristina Vasquez on Friday, May 26, 2023

1. Opening Items

A. Call to order

At 4:33pm, Mr. Jordan took roll call. With a quorum of board members present, Mr. Jordan called the meeting to order. Present: Deb McGriff, Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, Ralph Weber, Mike Fox, Daniel Velasco, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie Miller, Hugo Castaneda, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Brian Kilb, Louis Jordan Absent: Ray Raven, June Nwabara, Deja Gipson, Charmaine Detweiler, Malka Borrego

B. Public comment on off-agenda items

At 4:34pm, Mr. Jordan called for public comment on off-agenda items. No members of the public provided comment.

2. Information Item

A. IRS Form 990 for Rocketship Education for fiscal year ending 6/30/22

At 4:35pm, the board reviewed item 2(A). No action was taken.

3. Consent Items

- A. Approve minutes from March 1, 2023 meeting of the Board of Directors
- B. Appoint April Taylor to the Rocketship Public Schools Board of Directors through the end of May 2025
- C. Reappoint Jolene Sloter, Michael Fox and Raymond Raven to the Rocketship Public Schools Board of Directors through the end of May 2025
- D. Reappoint Jolene Sloter to the Rocketship Executive Committee for the remainder of their term on the Rocketship Board of Directors
- E. Approve 2023-2024 Extension Agreement between Revolution Foods and Rocketship Education
- F. Appoint Abraham Lee and Marcus Goodwin to the Launchpad Development Company Board
- G. Approve the FY 2023-24 Charter School Retirement Reporting Agreement

At 4:37pm, Mr. Sanchez made a motion to remove consent item 3(F) to appoint Abraham Lee and Marcus Goodwin to the Launchpad Development Company Board, and place it as discussion item 4(A), reordering the remaining agenda items accordingly. This motion was seconded by Ms. Sloter, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Deb McGriff, Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, Ralph Weber, Mike Fox, Daniel Velasco, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie Miller, Hugo Castaneda, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Brian Kilb, Louis Jordan N: --

Abstain: --

At 4:38pm, Mr. Sanchez made a motion to approve the consent items. This motion was seconded by Ms. Miller, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Deb McGriff, Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, Ralph Weber, Mike Fox, Daniel Velasco, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie Miller, Hugo Castaneda, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Brian Kilb, Louis Jordan N: --

Abstain: --

4. Agenda Items

A. Appoint Abraham Lee and Marcus Goodwin to the Launchpad Development Company Board

At 4:40pm, the board discussed item 4(A), the appointment of Abraham Lee and Marcus Goodwin to the Launchpad Development Company Board.

At 4:46pm, Mr. Stanger made a motion to approve the appointment of Abraham Lee and Marcus Goodwin to the Launchpad Development Company Board. This motion was seconded by Mr. Sanchez, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Deb McGriff, Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, Ralph Weber, Mike Fox, Daniel Velasco, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie Miller, Hugo Castaneda, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Brian Kilb, Louis Jordan, April Taylor

N: --

Abstain: --

B. Public Hearing of the Local Control Accountability Plans (LCAPs) for all California Rocketship schools: Rocketship Mateo Sheedy, Rocketship Si Se Puede, Rocketship Los Suenos, Rocketship Mosaic, Rocketship Discovery Prep, Rocketship Brilliant Minds, Rocketship Alma, Rocketship Spark, Rocketship Fuerza, Rocketship Rising Stars, Rocketship Redwood City Prep, Rocketship Futuro, and Rocketship Delta Prep
At 4:48pm, the board held the public hearing for item 4(B). No action was taken.

C. Approve Resolution #2023-03 Declaration of Need for Fully Certified Educators for Rocketship California Schools At 5:12pm, the board discussed item 4(C), Declaration of Need for Fully Certified Educators for Rocketship California Schools.

At 5:18pm, Mr. Sanchez made a motion to approve Resolution #2023-03. This motion was seconded by Mr. Fox, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Deb McGriff, Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, Ralph Weber, Mike Fox, Daniel Velasco, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie

Miller, Hugo Castaneda, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Brian Kilb, Louis Jordan, April Taylor N: --Abstain: --

D. Overview of School Safety Processes

At 5:19pm, Ben Carson and Eric Neumann presented item 4(D), School Safety Processes. No action was taken.

E. Development Update

At 5:58pm, Kristen Gates presented item 4(E), Development Update. No action was taken.

At 6:00pm, Brian Kilb, Daniel Velasco and Deb McGriff left the meeting.

5. Adjourn

At 6:04pm, Mr. Sanchez made a motion to adjourn the meeting. This motion was seconded by Ms. Miller, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, Ralph Weber, Mike Fox, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie Miller, Hugo Castaneda, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Louis Jordan, April Taylor

N: --

Abstain: --