Rocketship Public Schools National Board of Directors Meeting (2023-24 Q1) - Day 1 (Wednesday, August 23, 2023)

Generated by Cristina Vasquez on Tuesday, August 29, 2023

1. Opening Items

A. Call to order

At 1:03pm, Mr. Jordan took roll call. With a quorum of board members present, Mr. Jordan called the meeting to order. Present: Ray Raven, Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, June Nwabara, Daniel Velasco, Charmaine Detweiler, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie Miller, Malka Borrego, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Brian Kilb, April Taylor, Louis Jordan Absent: Deb McGriff, Mike Fox, Hugo Castaneda, Deja Gipson, Peter Philpott (advisor)

B. Public comment on off-agenda items

At 1:04pm, Mr. Jordan called for public comment on off-agenda items. No members of the public provided comment.

2. Consent Items

A. Approve minutes from June 8, 2023 meeting of the Board of Directors

B. Approve Revised Fiscal Policies

C. Approve the Memorandum of Understanding 2023-2-24 ASES Program Grant and ELOP Grant

D. Approval of Resolutions #2023-03 Re Consent to First Amended and Restated Charter (Articles of Incorporation) and Bylaws of Rocketship Education Tennessee (formerly incorporated as Rocketship Public Schools Tennessee) E. Reappoint Julie Miller and Malka Borrego to the Rocketship Public Schools Board of Directors through the end of August 2025

F. Appoint Derwin Sisnett to the Launchpad Development Company Board

G. Appoint Julie Miller and Yolanda Bernal Samano to the Rocketship Public Schools Executive Committee for the remainder of their term on the Rocketship Board of Directors

At 1:06pm, Mr. Velasco made a motion to approve the consent items. This motion was seconded by Ms. Taylor, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Ray Raven, Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, June Nwabara, Daniel Velasco, Charmaine Detweiler, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie Miller, Malka Borrego, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Brian Kilb, April Taylor, Louis Jordan N: --

Abstain: --

3. Agenda Items

A. Board updates (CEO, Board Chair, Committee Chairs, Executive Directors, Regional Chairs and Development) At 1:08pm, the board discussed agenda item 3(A). No action was taken.

At 1:11pm, Deb McGriff joined the meeting.

At 1:21pm, Mike Fox joined the meeting.

B. Approval of the revised 2023-24 Budget

At 1:43pm, the board discussed agenda item 3(B).

At 1:54pm, Mr. Terman made a motion to approve the revised 2023-24 Budget. This motion was seconded by Mr. Sanchez, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Ray Raven, Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, June Nwabara, Daniel Velasco, Charmaine Detweiler, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie Miller, Malka Borrego, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Brian Kilb, April Taylor, Deb McGriff, Mike Fox, Louis Jordan N: --

Abstain: --

C. 2023-24 Student Achievement Response

At 1:55pm, the board discussed agenda item 3(C).

At 2:49pm, Hugo Castaneda joined the meeting.

4. Break

At 3:07pm, the board took a break.

5. Agenda Items (Contd.)

A. Review Rocketship Public Schools 5 Year Strategic Plan and approve the proposed Logic Model and Five Year Goals At 3:31pm, the board discussed agenda item 5(A).

At 4:05pm, Ms. Miller made a motion to approve the Rocketship Public Schools Logic Model. This motion was seconded by Ms. Taylor, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Ray Raven, Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, June Nwabara, Daniel Velasco, Charmaine Detweiler, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie Miller, Malka Borrego, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Brian Kilb, April Taylor, Deb McGriff, Mike Fox, Hugo Castaneda, Louis Jordan

N: --

Abstain: --

At 4:50pm, Mr. Velasco made a motion to approve Rocketship Public Schools Five Year Goals. This motion was seconded by Mr. Sanchez, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Ray Raven, Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, June Nwabara, Daniel Velasco, Charmaine Detweiler, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie Miller, Malka Borrego, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Brian Kilb, April Taylor, Deb McGriff, Mike Fox, Hugo Castaneda, Louis Jordan N: --

Abstain: --

6. Adjourn

At 5:17pm, Ms. Sloter made a motion to adjourn the meeting. This motion was seconded by Ms. Borrego, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Ray Raven, Joey Sloter, Greg Stanger, Alex Terman, June Nwabara, Daniel Velasco, Charmaine Detweiler, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Julie Miller, Malka Borrego, Rajen Sheth, Michelle Mercado, Dan Sanchez, Brian Kilb, April Taylor, Deb McGriff, Mike Fox, Hugo Castaneda, Louis Jordan

N: --

Abstain: --